Visions of Sugar Plums (Week 4)

I mentioned last post that the finishing instructions (final week) were published at We All Sew on November 28.  Last night I finally got around to finishing this awesome table runner!

2016-12-16-SPTRf
Sugar Plum Table Runner finished in time for Christmas dinner.

Like the sample in the quilt along, I was going to quilt straight lines to keep the modern look but….I can’t sew a straight line.  Instead I got to try a pantograph for the first time!  Here’s the story:  I have this other quilt (that I love but can’t show right now because it’s a Christmas gift) that I wanted to quilt with a pantograph.  Seeing how I had never done it before, I figured I should practice on something small(ish) before attempting to do a whole lap quilt. Enter the Sugar Plum Table Runner.  The pantograph was the perfect size and fit the modern/whimsical look of the piece.  I think I did a pretty darn good job as well.

This past weekend I enjoyed a mini retreat with Momma Bear and a friend.  I even got to try a Pfaff Passport 2.0!  Using the amazing little machine, I finished the table runner ‘pillowcase style’ as per the quilt along.  I really like the no border look and a pillowcase finish, while similar to a faced edge, is much easier to do on smaller projects.  I just need to add my label (always add a label!) and this table runner is ready for Christmas dinner!

I enjoyed participating in my first quilt along and would highly recommend joining one if you never have.  It’s a fun experience and having a set date for the next part to be available really motivates you to keep on track.

Leave a Reply

