Visions of Sugar Plums (Week 3)

Week 3 of the Sugar Plum Table Runner is available and it’s the last two three blocks of the project (2 snowflake paper piecing blocks and 1 traditional piecing star block).

I was really enjoying my new journey in paper piecing…until this snowflake block. Not as easy as I thought it was going to be.  The actual paper piecing part was fine but then sewing those four blocks together to make the final block AND get the points matching was another story.  One block I had to unsew twice before getting the points to somewhat match.  The second block I only have to unsew once.  But I guess that’s what makes quilting fun because if everything was perfect every time it would be boring…right?!

2016-11-22-03-57-13-1
Modern Pine Tree – Golden Star – Snowflake – Poinsettia Flowers

The center block is a traditional pieced star block that I really love the look of. It’s my second favourite block of this table runner (the poinsettia is the first).  If you are doing this quilt along,  I would suggest doing the Magic 8 Method for the half-square triangles.  You need 8 HST so this way is much faster (and easier) than doing them the ‘regular’ way (as explained in the quilt along instructions).  For this block you need an finished size of 2 x 2″ which means to do the Magic 8 method, you will need to start with a 6″ or 6¼” block. 

I have another (future) time saving tip for you as well!  This was some wisdom passed down to me from Momma Bear during the making of my first quilt.  There are four snowball blocks that are part of the finished star block.  When making these snowball blocks, with an erasable pen/chalk draw a ¼” line to the outside of the seam then sew a ¼” from that drawn line.  Doing this will give you a small (≈ 1 inch) half-square triangle.  I’m sure that sounds confusing so hopefully these pictures will help explain.

IMG_20161122_160241.jpg

Leave a Reply

